Biking with the family…

Posted: March 14, 2011 in Day to Day
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

The weekend is the hardest. I was hungry and I did miss my beer. My weekends were always filled with food and alcohol. I grilled or we had folks over and that always included eating and drinking.  So I knew it would be hard and I made a plan. I decided to drink lots of water, make sure I had a lovely Optifast Shake every 3-4 hours, chew my diet gum, and drink lots of Club Soda.  All of this worked very well, but I was still hungry and I still missed my former life.  I am sure that the further I get away from my former life, the easier it will become.  But two weeks in it is difficult. I will not lie.

I you look at my links on the side of the blog you will see one for “The Grumpy Man” who lost over 100 lbs. I have been reading his blog and we have shared comments back and forth.  If you read his blog you will laugh and cry at his Wal-Mart Bicycle stories.  It has been very entertaining and has helped pass the time on my way to meeting him with more than 100 lbs. of weight loss.  Maybe we will start the 100 lb. Club.

The Grumpy Man spurred me on. I bought a bike about a year ago. It was my own disaster.  The bike worked very well and I actually bought one of those service contracts from Dicks’ Sporting Goods. I never buy these things but when I bought the bike I mentioned (as if it was not obvious) that I weighed “close to 400 lbs.” and that I needed to make sure the bike would hold me.  The guy was very nice and he helped me pick out a bike that was perfect for my size without laughing or saying “no way”. I had horrific images in my head and I went there on a week day at 1030am because I figured no one would be there if he laughed and I could sneak out backwards an I would not be seen.

I took the new bike out for a ride, last summer, with my wife. She also had a new bike.  There we were the happy couple on our…. oh, damn, my seat keeps falling down… I hate this thing. I will never use it again.  So, I took it home, put it in the garage and for a year I have refused to look at it…

With the new diet, with the Grumpy Guy, and with my weekend without food — the time had come to try again.  I took the bike out.  I pumped up the very flat tires. Hey, it had been a year. I got a wrench and I tightened down the seat. If the seat fell down it was going to be because the pole sheared off of the bike. It was not going to be my weight and the seat.  My kids came out sheepishly.  They had never seen “the big man” on his bike.  My wife saddled up on her bike and off we went. 

It was nothing short of delightful.  There I was with the wind in my hair and my bike flying down the road and the seat — The seat was holding… All that anger. All those excuses and I just needed to tighten it down.  The happy family of four rode off into the sunset…

Well, not exactly. I started huffing and puffing and thought I might die. But I kept up with everyone.  We went to the gardens nearby (The Van Landingham House) and took a little rest.  My kids fed the Koi fish in the pond and my wife walked around to survey the plants on the grounds. I sat on a bench to “enjoy the scene”. Really I was trying to breathe again. I thought if I were to die right there that I wanted to do it on a bench and not right in front of my children and not right into the pond.  After a bit, my daughter came over to me and sat down. She said, “Daddy, I am proud of you. I know it is hard, but it has been great to have you come with us. I know you are trying and I love you.” 

Well — melt my heart why don’t you!

She was always the good child and I promise I did not pay her to say that!  Well, it made all the difference and I hardly noticed my breathing on the way back. I tell you I could have flown if I had to.  It was a great Spring Day and it was some great exercise. It was just what the Optifast doctor ordered!

Here is me on my bike —

I hope to soon have a much better picture to show… LOL.

Hope your weekend was good!

Comments
  1. Wow! Thanks for the mention and I am proud to see you back on the bike.

    I’m having the same trouble with the seat so I guess I just need to tighten that sucker up even more.

    I hear you on the huffing and the puffing. I seem to remember bike riding being much easier when I was a kid. 😀

    Good luck for continued success and keep up the great work.

    The Grumpy Man

  2. Juju says:

    Glad you made it through the weekend and came out the other side with a good story to tell…a memory with your whole family. One that dosen’t revolve around food. That’s hard to come by in my neck of the woods. Good job.

  3. Your mention of the bike seat got me looking at mine again and BOOM. I figured out what I was doing wrong and can now adjust the seat without it sliding down again.

    Thanks! If you hadn’t mentioned that seat problem I would still be riding low. 😀

    The Grumpy Man

  4. OL … I love my bike and I am proud of you too! WTG Grumpy!! I am so glad to have a group of bikers to hang out with! 🙂 There is just something about it … I call it my happy pill. Don’t you love it when your children just say those sweet things. Mine are all grown now … but occasionally they still do it.

    Don’t worry it gets easier and easier guys. My hubby and I have been riding for a year. We did a team Tri/adventure race. He ran (me too fat–break bad knees–maybe not next year), I rode the 16.5 miles, and then we rowed our canoe for 5.5 miles. That should have been the easiest part, BUT we had the wrong boat (we had a lake canoe) we kept tumping over. It is funny now, but I wanted to whack something then. We had a blast and are going to do it again this year. I weight 255 for that race. I was just praying that the fat girl wouldn’t die on it!!

    OL — we went on a family vaca and I passed out from heat exhaustion and I was praying the whole time — don’t let me die here and ruin this for everyone! Won’t it be nice NOT to deal with that??!!

Leave a Reply

