It’s fun to stay at the y-m-c-a.

Posted: May 1, 2011 in Day to Day
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

There it is…. The place that I will spend the rest of my life at.  The treadmills’ at the YMCA. I say that with joy and sorrow.  Sorrow because I can only blame myself for my current situation and I know that the only way to keep weight off is with one simple principle: More Output, Less Input.  Pretty simple but that is how it works. If you want to eat, you gotta work that body baby!  Joy because I used to have a love affair with the treadmill.  I really enjoyed hitting that thing hard and left a lifetime of blood, sweat and tears on the one I left behind.

I have gone to the “Y” a thousand times.  I did the “Executive Workout” which involves mostly talking, steaming, and watching TV in the lounge and then taking a nice shower and going home feeling refreshed and proud of my long workout.  I also did the “Swim Workout”, which is mostly what I did, which includes 45 minutes of rigorous swimming followed by talking, steaming and watching TV in the lounge…. I crack myself up. Well, not exactly, I did swim and I love to swim for long periods of time and attacking the water for a full aerobic effect.  I did lift weights from time to time as well as walk the indoor track, but this was not the usual routine. I play semi-pro football (the team has been calling as tryouts are this week) and I often used the YMCA to tone or to recover from football injuries which are constant at my age.

But based on the incredible workouts that Shonnie (See link to “Diary of An Angry Fat Woman” on the side panel — I digress but I hardly see her as fat and I never read a post where she is angry — Oh well, she is great – read her blog!) — Shonnie does these things like ride her bike to Alaska and trains hanging upside down in a cave while doing intense exercises.  She really puts testosterone to shame!  So, with Shonnie’s posts in my brain, and my close to 70 lbs. of weight loss (fingers crossed for Tuesday!), I decided to venture around my YMCA.  Believe it or not, I have never gone to all of the 6 floors of my local YMCA.

I climbed the stairs which are steep, hard and a workout themselves. Each and every floor I decided needed to be explored.  There was some incredible things that I had never seen before. As I went from floor to floor the hardest part was not that I have worked out in this gym for years and never explored it, but rather those stairs which were really something else.  I was passed by a woman (blonde of course it is Charlotte after all) in very skimpy tight clothes. The only thing bad I can say is she was short.  She pushed past me and yelled, “… and yes they are real…” I was about to take this personally until she yelled the same exact thing to the lady in front of me as she sprinted up the stairs pass her.

I got passed the basketball gym with the guys yelling at each other. I made it pass what was labelled at the “Women’s Weight Room” (Cool. Girl Power.) and the racquetball courts, and the row of classrooms for Yoga, aerobics and of course “Spinning”.  Here on the 4th floor, I finally made it into the treadmill room.  There along a bank of windows, overlooking the two big buildings we have in Charlotte, I found my oasis – the treadmill with Cable TV. Amen.

I watched as people ran and threw sweat all over each of the machines.  I saw a pudgy bald guy that I think was about to have a heart attack running and looking at the thin guy next to him. Jealousy runs like water in the workout room.

With visions of Shonnie working on her Cirque Du Soleil audition, I got up the nerve to walk on the treadmill. I was the only one walking but dang it, I was doing it.  I walked for 40 minutes and the machine said I walked off 650 calories (can’t be true).  I go for walks around the neighborhood here, but this was at a fast 4.0 mph clip.  I was doing it!

I got off the machine and my back hurt and my ankle was sore.  I thought for a minute — Please God, don’t let me die in front of all these people. Let me get around the corner first. I went down to change and swim.  I thought this would help.  I then did the rest of the “Executive Workout” and went home.  I felt pretty good.

I woke up Saturday morning and my back still hurt and so did my ankle.  I am the defense coach for my son’s Flag Football Team and we had a game at 4pm.  So there I was: Stiff, Fat and hobbling around on a bad ankle.  I thought I looked like something out of a horror movie. I was only missing an axe and the blonde woman from the YMCA and I could have received my first Oscar.

Today Sunday, things are a bit better, and I am thinking that by Monday I can hit the Treadmill again.  Maybe I should try for 20 minutes and see if that is better.  I am going to put a little ice on this ankle this morning and try to go on a short walk today. Or maybe not.

The last I read, Shonnie had purchased tickets to Africa, is training and camping in the Appalachians, for her climb to the summit of Mount Kilimanjaro.

Have a great Weekend! Tuesday is Weigh-in!

Comments
  1. Candi says:

    I’m putting my treadmill back into action tomorrow too 🙂 It had a brief rest outside my room whilst visitors were about, and before that when it was used as a clothes line, and before that when it was used as a dust catcher.
    My aim is simple, at least 5 minutes a day… Just small… preferrably at 4kmph, but most likely only 2.5-3 and by the end of the month I would like to be doing 15minutes per day at 4kmph. Thats the “light exercise” supposedly according to the optifast sight, and much better than I did at my last heart appointment, where the nurse said “dont worry, it starts slow, about 4kmph, the speed your grandparents would walk”…Um… yeah.. Right.
    The point Im getting around to… Is You have support 😛

  2. Shonnie says:

    I have never laughed so hard in my life as I have today. I love being included in your tale of exercise! Oh, if I could only do those things you say …. I would surely be skinny and NOT STUCK at only 60 pounds lost, unlike yourself who has shot ahead of me like a bullet!!

    My husband liked your version of my exercise exploits so much he shared your post on FB … who KNOWS what you will get in the way of comments from our crazy friends! Thanks Rocket Weight Loss man for thinking so higly of me.

    Oh and when I started exercising, I could only walk on a treadmill for 5 or 10 minutes without having to lay down and rest. You are way ahead of me there too! One step at a time dear looser-brother and you too will climb to the summit of Mount Kilimanjaro.

  3. Mike Wilson says:

    This was HILARIOUS!!!!! I am Shonnie’s husband, and it is glad to know that AT LAST someone understands the grueling pace she sets for me. I have to hustle so she doesn’t whip my testosterone rear. Definitely never let her see me sweat!

    Great post, and keep it up–you WILL be rewarded.

    • Well she is an inspiration and a perspiration to us all…
      I have enjoyed reading and looking at the pictures of both of you riding across America.
      I mapped out your trip to Georgia and I was amazed.
      I thought maybe I could do it from Charlotte to Georgia and meet you guys —
      But there is no way to do it without going through Atlanta….
      No way… Ha Ha…
      Keep up keeping up with her!

  4. […] right, and I am just not in the mood to deal with this once having gotten so close to my goal.   Optifast Loser said all kinds of funny things about how I do all this activity–that gave me a […]

  5. Molly says:

    I just started Optifast 3 weeks ago. I don’t have a group nearby, so I just go to a clinic, get a quick check and pick up the product. Your blog is becoming my “support group” of sorts. I really am enjoying reading it. I started way back at the beginning, so I don’t know how it’s turning out in “real time” – but I bet you are doing well. I don’t even recall how I found it.

    I lost 80 lbs on Optifast in the early 90s and kept it off for a VERY long time. Then, over the past several years I gained it all back plus 40 more. So far, in my first two weeks I’ve lost 19. I know the routine, so I’m excited to get this weight back off.

    I’m an Optifast purist (ha ha) – meaning I just down the shakes – I’m not into the recipes and such. I sometimes drink it hot, that’s about it. Like you, I consider it a “medicine” to take of the weight. Hunger is never an issue. Boredom sometimes is.

    I go back this week for a weigh in and I figure whatever it is this time will be a bit more realistic in terms of what I can expect to lose per week.

    Thanks for your entertaining blogs. Really helps to know I’m not the only person drinking powdered drinks for all my meals.

    BTW – this time round I’m 50. I imagine things will have slowed down a bit re:speedy weight loss. Last time round I was female and I still am. 🙂 Not sure if my husband will join me on Optifast this time like he did last time, but I think he prefers a food-eating path to weight loss. But at least he has lost his partner in crime regarding food being our entertainment.

    Best wishes for continued success! I’m looking forward to sitting down tonight to get caught up with your journey.

    Molly

    • Sorry it has taken me so long to respond.
      Good Luck on your journey!

      I love the term Optifast Purist — I am going to steal it.

      You may see a lower amount this time with the weight loss — walking every day can speed it up for you.
      The 2nd time is very hard! Just keep that in mind.

Leave a Reply

